Payment Methods:

Follow Us:

Send us an Email

The Monastery Store

 

 

7020 Stanley Avenue

Niagara Falls, Ontario

L2G 7B7

Phone - 905 356 0047

  • Facebook App Icon

2016 Monastery werx

PEACEFUL AND BEAUTIFUL

Reviewed May 15, 2018

Went here to visit the chapel and see the relics of St. Therese. The chapel is gorgeous, with beautiful stained glass windows. There is also a pamphlet explaining the scenes on each window. You can light a candle which we did. 

We visited the gift shop. Staff was super friendly. They offer a wine tasting as well. 

We stayed on the grounds for a while. The walk to the grotto is nice. Definitely take a step here and experience the beauty and peace.


 

“Just Beautiful”

Reviewed 2 September 2016

During an overcast day we thought we'd go and see this church and gift centre area. The church is a marvel! The wood work and stained glass along with the statues is just beautiful. Even my 15-yr old son was awestruck and took pictures inside and outside the church.
The gift store has an incredible selection from jewelry and rosaries to cards, crosses, statues, religious plates, mugs etc. This is the most variety I've ever seen of religious articles. I'll definitely go again next time we're in the Falls.

Visited August 2016

“Personally, One of my Happy Places!”

Reviewed 12 November 2016

I'm a Lutheran and Anglican pastor.
I have been going to Mt. Carmel for retreats for over 12 years, twice a year.

This is a amazing place to be.
The worship space in the chapel is breath taking. If you have the opportunity to worship here when a large group, like a retreat group, is there; do so!
Or even if you just want to have some quiet time and rest. Just looking at the stain glass windows is prayerful and meditative.

The rooms are comfortable and always good.
There is WiFi throughout the centre, a wonderful lower lounge for visiting with others (including fountain pop, tea, coffee, fruit, cookies, and a HD TV).

The food is out of this world. Steve and his staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. It may sound silly, but I sometimes "dream" of their scrambled eggs and desert table (which is always full and replenished).

I always look forward to the time I can spend here.

Visited October 2016

“LOVE THIS PLACE!”

Reviewed 16 February 2016

I live in Niagara Falls and have the pleasure of visiting this lovely establishment as often as I wish. The gift shop has just undergone huge renovations and I haven't been back since. It will be interesting to see what they have on display now. Previous to the renovations, the gift shop had just about everything you could ask for or want. I have been informed that there will be a lot more to choose from now. I find that hard to believe.

Visited April 2015

“A very beautiful place”                          Reviewed 27 April 2016

This is a historic monestary with a convent next door. The Friars are of the Order af Carmelites and they have their chapel dedicated to St. Therese The Little Flower. The stained glass windows are gorgeous as are the wood carvings. There is a very nice gift shop with all kinds of books and beautiful religious gift items. There is a wonderful cemetery and grounds to walk, all historically beautiful.

Visited April 2016

“Truly restorative and peaceful place!”

Reviewed 2 days ago

I've been going to lenten retreats here for several years. The Triduum is a must-do for anyone wanting to deepen their faith and
discover their spirituality. Enlightening lectures and masses and gatherings - and the FOOD! Well, just excellent!

Visited March 2016


https://www.tripadvisor.ca/ShowUserReviews-g154998-d1869806-r454303673-Mount_Carmel_Spiritual_Centre-Niagara_Falls_Ontario.html#

“Lots of history and peace amongst the falls”

Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

This is a place to book spiritual retreats, attend mass, learn some history of the carmelites.
It has a gift shop with religious gifts unlike the gift stores around niagara.
It also has a museum of carmelites and an arts center.
Always call ahead to see when mass is and to book a retreat.

Visited December 2015

“Beautiful, peaceful place to visit.”

Reviewed 6 January 2016

I've visited this establishment quite a few time s and really enjoy every visit. The gift shop offers a very wide variety of items for purchase and they are all beautiful. The view in the church is also beautiful!

Visited August 2015

Historical Roman Catholic Religious/Spiritual Centre; Beautiful Architecture”

Reviewed 25 March 2015

This is one of Niagara Falls' most beautiful buildings and also one of its oldest institutions dating back to 1895. For anyone with an interest in history or the Roman Catholic Religion, or merely architecture, I would recommend a stop here. It was situated in this location for its peaceful and beautiful surroundings. Yes, the Falls really are close-by. The gift shop is not like souvenir gift shops where one might expect to find tacky t-shirts. The gift shop has some nice religious gifts that you would not find easily elsewhere. I purchased a gold rosary for my late grandmother here and a soft white Madonna figurine which illuminates for my great aunt. I have seen bus tours stop in to have a look at both the store and the edifice. To refer to it as merely a church as one person does here, is an understatement and I would not want to see the review that same person submits for Gaudi's "La Sagrada Familia" in Barcelona. After all, it's only a church. :-S

Visited March 2015

    • December, 20th, 2016

    • Mount Carmel is such a beautiful old Monastery. It is a hidden jewel in Niagara Falls. I annually attend spiritual retreats there that are awesome. Last summer I visited the gift store. I was like a child in a toy store. Such beautiful spiritual gifts. So many gifts for family & friends.  I will make my gift list before leaving home in January 2017 for a retreat there. And then put eye blinders on, as I pick up my gifts. You must go in when in the area. You will be glad you did.